Chiropractic Board of Australia - About the Board
Look up a health practitioner


Check if your health practitioner is qualified, registered and their current registration status

About the Board

Chiropractic Board of Australia

The Chiropractic Board of Australia was established under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law as in force in each state and territory (the National Law). The Board’s role is to regulate chiropractors in Australia under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme).

Board members are appointed by the Australian Workforce Ministerial Council. Chiropractors are one of 15 health professions in the National Scheme.

Find out more about each Board member.

Functions of the Board

The functions of the Chiropractic Board of Australia include:

  • registering chiropractors and students
  • developing standards, codes and guidelines for the chiropractic profession
  • handling notifications, complaints, investigations and disciplinary hearings
  • assessing overseas trained practitioners who wish to practise in Australia; and
  • approving accreditation standards and accredited programs of study.

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency

The Board is supported by the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (Ahpra). Ahpra has a national office based in Melbourne and offices in every state and territory to support local boards and committees.

For information about legislation governing our operations see Ahpra's Legislation and Publications pages.

Contact the Board

Postal address:

Dr Wayne Minter, Chair
Chiropractic Board of Australia
G.P.O. Box 9958
Melbourne VIC 3001

You can also use the online enquiry form to contact the Board.

Page reviewed 17/08/2021