Registration overview

Chiropractors must be registered with the Chiropractic Board of Australia, and meet the Board's registration standards, in order to practise in Australia.

Registering as a chiropractor in Australia

Registration Types

The chiropractic registration types are:

  • general registration 
  • limited registration
    • teaching or research 
    • in the public interest
  • non-practicing registration
  • student registration 

Registration process

Information on the registration process is available on the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) website.


Endorsement of registration identifies chiropractors with additional qualifications and specific expertise.

Currently there is no approved program or pathway for acupuncture endorsement for chiropractors.

Overseas Practitioners

For more information on registration of overseas practitioners, please go to the overseas practitioner registration page.

Registration renewal

Registered practitioners are required to renew their registration each year.

The registration renewal date for chiropractic profession is 30 November – the annual renewal date for the profession under the national Registration and Accreditation Scheme.

Chiropractors can check their registration details and expiry date on the National Registers of Practitioners.

You will be sent a reminder when your registration is due. Look out for this as confirmation that you can renew online. See Fees for cost of annual renewal.

See FAQ and Fact Sheets for information on renewal. To renew your registration, go to the AHPRA login page.

Who is AHPRA?

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) supports the 14 National Boards in their role of protecting the public and setting standards and policies that all registered health practitioners must meet.

AHPRA and the National Boards work together to register and renew health practitioners and, where required, investigate complaints or concerns regarding health practitioners.

AHPRA's operations are governed by the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law which came into effect on 1 July 2010. This law applies in each Australian state and territory, and is sometimes referred to on our sites as ‘the National Law’.

All health practitioners registered to practise are included on the national register of practitioners which is managed by AHPRA.

Find out more about AHPRA.

Page reviewed 4/09/2015