

## Media release

2 September 2015

## Chiropractic Board of Australia sets fee for 2015/16

The Chiropractic Board of Australia (the Board) has announced the national registration fee for chiropractors for 2015/16.

The fee has been set at \$552, limiting the increase to the national consumer price index (CPI) of 1.3%. It will apply from 9 September 2015 and cover the registration period for most practitioners of 1 December 2015 to 30 November 2016.

The fee for practitioners whose principal place of practice is NSW is \$403.1

A fee schedule, including the fee arrangements for practitioners whose principal place of practice is NSW, will be published on the Board's website.

The National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme) is funded by practitioners' registration fees. The decision to limit the increase to CPI ensures practitioners are not unduly burdened, but still provides sufficient income to allow the Board to meet its obligations in protecting the public.

Board Chair, Dr Wayne Minter AM, said that the Board set the fee at a level that will allow it to continue to fulfil its regulatory obligations, while continuing its commitment to prudent financial management.

'In setting the new fee the Board can continue its work developing national registration standards, codes, policies and guidelines for the profession, and protect the public by ensuring that chiropractors in Australia are adequately qualified and experienced,' Dr Minter said.

The Board will also shortly publish the Health Profession Agreement (HPA). The HPA provides information about the Board's financial operations, outlines the partnership between the Board and the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA), and the services AHPRA will provide to the Board to regulate the profession.

## For more information

- Visit <u>www.chiropracticboard.gov.au</u>
- For registration enquiries: 1300 419 495 (within Australia) +61 3 9275 9009 (overseas callers)
- For media enquiries: (03) 8708 9200

1

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> NSW is a co-regulatory jurisdiction.