

Media release

10 August 2012

Chiropractic Board of Australia appointments announced

Australia's state and territory health ministers have announced the membership of the Chiropractic Board of Australia, as well as the 9 other National Boards in the National Accreditation and Registration Scheme that were originally appointed in 2009.

The appointments reflect ministers' intention to balance stability with renewal in National Board membership. Details of the announcements are published in the Communiqué of the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council, which was released late last week. Continuing Board members are Dr. Phillip Donato OAM, Dr Bevan Goodreid, Dr Amanda Kimpton, Dr Mark McEwan and Ms Margaret Wolf.

Dr Philip Donato OAM, Chair of the Chiropractic Board of Australia (the Board), said that the inaugural Board has set strong foundations for better protection of the public.

"I would like to thank all the members of the inaugural Chiropractic Board of Australia for their dedication and efforts to establish a robust Board and policies for regulating chiropractic in Australia, and thus better protect the public. Thank you, too, to the current departing Board members Dr Stephen Crean and Dr Geoff Irvine for their excellent contribution", said Dr Donato.

"I welcome the new Board members Dr Michael Badham and Dr Sharon Eaton who are appointed as of September 2012 and Ms Anne Burgess, and Ms Barbara Kent who were appointed as of June 2012. I look forward to continue working with the Board , the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency, our national and international partners and stakeholders, and all registrants to ensure that the public has access to qualified chiropractors and quality care".

For more information

- The AHWMC communiqué is published on the AHPRA website, www.ahpra.gov.au, under Legislation & Publications
- Visit the Board website at www.chiropracticboard.gov.au
- Lodge an online enquiry form by following the Contact us link
- For registration enquiries: 1300 419 495 (within Australia) +61 7 3666 4911 (overseas callers)
- For media enquiries: (03) 8708 9200