Chiropractic Board of Australia - Board community member named in Australia Day Honours

Board community member named in Australia Day Honours

29 Jan 2021

Chiropractic Board of Australia community member, Ms Anne Burgess, has been recognised with a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia in this year’s Australia Day Honours List.

The Member of the Order of Australia is awarded for service in a particular location or field of activity or to a particular group.

The award recognises Ms Burgess’s significant service to mental health, to gender equality, and to older persons.

Trained as a social worker, Ms Burgess has more than 40 years’ experience leading areas of government focussed on social justice and advocating for the vulnerable.She has been a community member of the Chiropractic Board of Australia since 2012, bringing her passion for community engagement to the Board.

Ms Burgess is Chair of the Aged Rights Advocacy Service (South Australia), Vice President of Council for the Ageing, Chair of the Community Visitors Advisory Committee and Governing Board member of the Northern Adelaide Local Health Network.

She previously worked in senior positions as Acting Commissioner for Equal Opportunity, Director of the Office for Women, Director of Mental Health and was a member of the South Australian Chiropractic and Osteopathy Board and the South Australian Medical Board before formation of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the National Scheme).

She is a member of the Legal Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal and has previously served as an Assistant Commissioner for the Public Sector Grievance Review Commission.

The Board congratulates Ms Burgess on her award and thanks her for her contribution to the National Scheme.

Page reviewed 29/01/2021